AFTERLIFE Digital life, explained
Digital life, explained

What happens toyour digital life?

We explain what happens after you delete, cancel, disappear, recover, or die — from your data and accounts to what may still exist behind the scenes.

Try
01Create
02Active
03Inactive
04Deleted
05Retained
06Gone
Explore the unknown

What happens when...you take the next step?

Delete it. Cancel it. Leave it. Recover it. Every digital action can trigger a different chain of events.

Explore by service

Your digital life
lives everywhere.

The same action can have a different outcome on every platform. Choose a service to see what happens next.

SERVICE / GOOGLE

Google

Accounts, Gmail, Photos, Drive and the data connected to them.

01 / 06
Platforms change. We track what happens next.View all services →
05 stories

ARTICLE

digital life / explained
No published articles are available yet. Publish a Blogger post and it will appear here automatically.
Digital life / field notes

Latest Changes

View change archive

The digital rules keep changing. We track the changes that affect what happens to your accounts, data and digital identity.We explain the system — and monitor when the system changes.

00 / —
No recent changes tracked yet.When a post is published with the changes label, it will appear here as a concise editorial signal.
We explain the system — and monitor when the system changes.
Popular questions